Areas of Support

Main Content

Learn more about specific areas you can restrict your tax-deductible contribution towards.
Make your donation online or learn about other ways to give.
Questions? Contact

Donate Now


Paul Simon Public Policy Institute Endowment – the Institute’s main source of revenue for operational and programmatic needs.

Friends of the Paul Simon Public Policy Institute  designated for use by the Institute director to assist with expenses for operations, programs, and special initiatives.  

Alexander Lane Internship Fund – supports a scholarship to be awarded each year to at least one student each spring to work with a minority member of the Illinois General Assembly, providing the student with challenging and rewarding assignments.

Barbara Brown Memorial Fund – this fund was established by the family and many other donors to honor the life and legacy of Dr. Barbara L. Brown, Ph.D., who taught at SIU Carbondale for more than 30 years. Proceeds of the fund will be used to continue the service and teaching of her legacy to SIU students and promote the principle that public higher education shares a responsibility to encourage public service and serve the public good.

Bill and Molly Norwood Fellowship – a lecture series honoring Bill and Molly Norwood to bring speakers to campus to address public policy and diversity.

David Yepsen Director's Award Endowment – this award formalizes one of the first initiatives David enacted during his tenure. Donations to the Yepsen Award both help our students and commemorate David’s contribution to Paul Simon’s living legacy.

Edwin Phillips Debate Team Scholarship – a scholarship has been established to honor students on SIU Carbondale’s championship debate team and his memory. The scholarship will be awarded annually to a debate team member who is an SIU student in good standing. There is a preference given to those with an interest in a career in public service, public policy, politics, or related fields.

Gil and Jean Kroening Fellowship Endowment – a lecture series honoring Gil and Jean Kroening to bring speakers on topics such as U.S. and world agriculture, food and environmental issues. 

Jeanne Hurley Simon Memorial Scholarship – this scholarship honors Jeanne's life and legacy, and assists young women dedicated to public service. 

Jeanne Hurley Simon Fellowship – established in memory of Paul Simon’s first wife, the lecture series features a woman of distinction in the areas of politics, government, and the law.

John Hayward Fellowship – a lecture series honoring Jack and Muriel Hayward’s commitment to the Carbondale community by hosting speakers on topics related to politics and religion or politics and the arts. 

John White Fellowship – a lecture series honoring a retired Chicago-area businessman and former head of the Better Government Association to host speakers on issues related to state and municipal government.

Mike Lawrence Scholarship Fund – supports a scholarship to be awarded each year to a student who is involved with the Paul Simon Public Policy Institute with a preference that the recipient is a member of the Student Ambassador Program, an African American, and highly involved in the SIUC community.

Ralph A. Dunn Fellowship – a lecture series honoring a former Republican state legislator from southern Illinois to host a speaker involved in state government.

Youth Government Day – supports the Institute’s annual high school leadership development program for students to visit the state Capitol and hear from professionals in public policy, government and politics, and related fields as a way to encourage young people to consider careers in these fields.