Simon–Edgar Statesmanship Award

Main Content

Simon-Edgar Statesmanship Award


The annual Simon-Edgar Statesmanship Award is presented to a former or current elected state or local government official in Illinois who has demonstrated a pattern of public service characterized by vision, courage, compassion, effectiveness, civility, and bipartisanship.

Nominate an Illinois state or local elected official who has displayed this kind of exceptional leadership. We created the Simon-Edgar Statesmanship Award to shine a spotlight on remarkable public service that is taking place in our state and local communities. Therefore, those holding federal office – in the U.S. House and Senate, for example – are not eligible.

Please submit your nominations by June 15, 2024.

The award will be announced at the August meeting of the Edgar Fellows Program. The recipient will be recognized and invited to give remarks there as well as at an event hosted later in the year by the Paul Simon Public Policy Institute.

Nomination Form