Board of Counselors

Main Content

Martin SimonAs approved by the Board of Trustees of Southern Illinois University, the principal responsibilities of the Paul Simon Public Policy Institute Board of Counselors include:

  • Make a recommendation to the president of the university regarding the hiring, and if necessary, the termination of the institute's director; and,
  • Meet at least once per year to review the institute's progress regarding programmatic and fiscal performance and its fidelity to Paul Simon's mandate of a bipartisan approach to its undertakings.

The Board shall consist of 16 voting members: Nine at-large members nominated by the board itself, two members of the Simon family chosen by the family, one member appointed by the chair of the Illinois State Republican Party, one member appointed by the Illinois State Democratic Party and the previous past director. The Board shall also have two voting ex-officio members: The provost of the university and the vice chancellor of development and alumni relations of the university.

Board of Counselors Members:

  • Martin Simon, Chairman of the Institute Board
  • Reilly Bowler, Simon Family Appointment
  • Nancy Chen, Member-at-Large
  • Ross Glickman, State Democratic Party Appointment
  • Austin Lane, Ex Officio Member, SIU Chancellor
  • Matt Kupec, Ex Officio Member, SIU Vice Chancellor for Development & Alumni Relations, SIU Foundation Chief Executive Officer
  • Bill Norwood, Member-at-Large
  • Vicki Otten, Member-at-Large
  • Howard Peters, Member-at-Large
  • John Trasviña, Member-at-Large
  • Lance Trover, State Republican Party Appointment
  • Paula Wolff, Member-at-Large
  • David Yepsen, Former Director